Am I the only one who hates buying presents?

Maybe the picture I included in the last post would be more appropriate. Sometimes, at Christmas, I feel like a bit of a Grinch!

I know that asking “Am I the only one…” on the Internet is usually met with a resounding, and weary, “No!”. However, I honestly feel like this might be one of those rare instances where I am genuinely alone.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t hate giving presents. However, I’m not the biggest fan of receiving them either! Obviously, I like getting new things, and I do like giving someone something I know they will like. The tokenism of the whole thing just doesn’t appeal to me like it does to others.

It’s a problem that makes me wonder, am I a selfish person? Or have I just always been so disorganised that the whole enjoyment of present-buying is lost on me in the last minute rush? I’m disinclined to blame it entirely on my disorganisation. Even when I have plenty of time, I find it genuinely difficult to decide, on behalf of someone else, what they will like. My sister will scoff at this, like it’s not a good enough excuse. But she doesn’t know what it’s like! She’s habitually a fantastic shopper, and not just for herself.

If anyone has any tips on present-buying, please, enlighten me! So that next Christmas, I’ll look less like the top photo, and more like this one:

Leave a Reply

